jump to navigation

T.M.X. Elmo W.T.F.? October 4, 2006

Posted by Andy in Elmo, Gadgets, soapbox, Toys.
trackback

The fine folks at Toy Wishes magazine have announced their annual Hot Dozen list of toys that they expect to be most popular this holiday season. Not surprisingly, T.M.X. Elmo made the list. According to fisher-price.com:


“T.M.X.” Elmo will tickle America’s funny bone with three interactive tickle spots on his chin, tummy or toe. When kids tickle Elmo once on any of the tickle spots, he starts to laugh and slap his leg twice, then falls down into a sitting position and rocks himself back up to standing while laughing. When they tickle him a second time, he repeats the pattern even more, then sits down again and falls backwards onto his back and starts kicking his feet while laughing even harder. He then stands back up and asks to be tickled again. And on the third tickle he absolutely lets loose going through the first two patterns and then rolling over onto his tummy where he starts hitting the floor with his hand in gales of laughter, then rolling onto his back, standing up again, and ending with a deep sigh

To me, this has to be the second sign of the apocalypse (the first being the increasing number and complexity of Lucky Charm marbits, that I rant about here). Ten years ago, when the 1 tickle spot, non knee slapping, deep sigh free Tickle Me Elmo came out, it was more than enough fun for the children of the nineties. Today’s kids need more, it seems.

All this makes me wonder what the 2016 incarnation of the auburn furred Muppet will be. Here are my predictions for T.M.XX Elmo

  • Interactive tickle spots replaced by humor proximity sensors that make Elmo giggle when within 10 meters of something amusing (aside: I say meters in my hope that the U.S. has finally switched to the metric system by then)
  • These humor proximity sensors respond not only to slap-stick physical humor, but dry sardonic asides and amusing anecdotes relevant to the issues of the day
  • The first time he is amused, Elmo smiles and nods slightly in acknowledgment of the humor
  • The second time he is amused, Elmo guffaws, does a spit-take, and milk comes out of his nose
  • The third time is the charm since it causes Elmo to write a poignant commentary about what caused his delight on his blog. This blog is so popular that it is second only to Scoble.
Comments»

1. Dave - October 5, 2006

I think this is your best work yet. Check your hit count. I’ve forwarded the link to this post all over the place

2. Mark (Dave's co-worker) - October 10, 2006

The real fear is the upcoming T.M. XXX doll, which caters to the “furry” fetish crowd. I don’t want to think about where the “tickle” spots will be on that version [shudders].

3. Nancy Kayridge - November 2, 2006

How can people spend $200 for one of these things? I got mine for free from FreeElmos.com and all I had to do was sign up for a free trial and tell my girlfriends. Not that I’m bragging, but I do consider myself to be smarter than the average bear! Will post a link to some videos with my TMX soon.

4. Tommy - November 21, 2006

I started to get mad every store has been out of them. But I did find a site with great info on them, and where to find tmx elmo here: tmx elmo I consider myself very lucky and my kids lucky but this whole suplly and demand thing stinks Elmo TMX! LOL!


Leave a Reply

