jump to navigation

The Good Wife’s Guide August 15, 2006

Posted by Andy in andy roth, marriage, soapbox.
trackback

My dad just sent me this article from Good Housekeeping, circa 1955. I’m not sure if he thought it was funny, or he was being nostalgic for the Pleasantville days of yore (Note: he got married in 1963, so he may have missed this).

According to this article, wives should strive to make the home “a place of peace, order and tranquility.

Some of my favorites:

  • “Over the cooler months of the year you should prepare and light a fire for him to unwind by.”
  • “Arrange his pillow and offer to take off his shoes.”
  • “Don’t complain if he is late home for dinner or even if he stays out all night.”
  • “You have no right to question him.”

Wow, and I thought breakfast cereal had changed a lot over the years!  I forwarded it to Shelley and suggeted she should try following this guide.  She reminded me that it would not work for us since I telecomute and never leave the house, and therefore, never come home.  A good wife always knows my place.

Note: Upon further research – it turns out this may or may not be a hoax.  Maybe the good ol’ days weren’t so good afterall.

Comments»

1. Anonymous - August 31, 2006

I have got to believe it is a hoax. The tip off (for me) is the “don’t comlain if he is late home for dinner OR EVEN IF HE STAYS OUT ALL NIGHT.” Pardon? The only excuse for staying out all night is that he is banging the wife’s best friend, or some other broad. Hard to believe that this invitation for husbands to stray but still be loved and coddled at home was ever in Good Housekeeping or anywhere else, except the “Swinger’s Guide to An Open Marriage”.

My bet is that Bill Clinton had a hand in authoring this.


Leave a Reply

