jump to navigation

What, Me Thirty? July 13, 2006

Posted by Andy in andy roth, soapbox.
trackback

28 March 2001

A little over a month ago, I crossed into the realm of the thirty-somethings. So far, it is more or less what I expected. When I was a boy, someone who was thirty seemed much older than I now feel. Of course, I still remember thinking someone in third grade was old. Even so, as I begin my fourth decade, there are some things I am glad for. For one, it is nice to still have all my hair, even though some of it is a bit gray. I’m glad to have a wife whose company I still enjoy. I’m especially glad to have a wife who is in her twenties. I’m glad that I still enjoy some of the same diversions as I have in the past, including cartoons, games, and sugar sweetened cereal.

One thing that really surprises me is that I think my feet are still growing.

So, what happens now? As I get older, will I look at time as the fire in which I burn or will I intead see it as a companion through my life’s journey? When will I be old enough for a midlife crisis? What does it mean that 40 still seems further away than 20 does? The answers to these and many other questions will be revealed in their own time. In the meantime, I just have to wait, enjoy the moment, and hope my feet stop growing.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

