jump to navigation

Generation Definition July 12, 2006

Posted by Andy in andy roth, generationx, soapbox.
trackback

(from ~1997) 

I am a member of Generation X. They way I understand it, we are called Generation X because we are hard to define. I disagree with that notion. In this will SoapBox, I will define Generation X.

After a great deal of research consisting of me sitting here and making stuff up, I present this list. I realize that most fellow Generation X’rs will disagree with some of what I say, and some will disagree with most of it. I welcome, and will publish any opposing points of view. But here is what I think (that is why it is called Andy’s SoapBox)

The Movie that defines Generation X: Star Wars TrilogyThere is not a single one of my peers who does not get any Star Wars reference, no matter how obscure. Everyone saw these movies, most of us saw them many times. Now that they are being re-released, a whole new generation can experience them. I don’t think that they will have the same effect on our younger counterparts though, because, let’s face it, by today’s standards they are pretty cheesy. Also, we are the first generation that are not bothered by sequels, and in fact, usually expect them.
The First Moment When All Generation X’rs Know Where They Were: The Challenger ExplosionOur ancestors had Pearl Harbor and the Kennedy assassination. We have the space shuttle blowing up. I remember all the jokes that soon followed. I wonder if they had Kennedy jokes in 1963?

Some Songs That Define Generation X:

  • She Blinded Me With Science
  • Born In The USA
  • In The Air Tonight
  • Every Breath You Take
  • You’re The Inspiration
  • Down Under
  • Angel Is A Centerfold
  • Private Eyes

Some TV Shows That Define Generation X

  • Bosom Buddies
  • Family Ties
  • Cosby Show
  • Superfriends
  • MacGyver
  • Knight Rider
  • Dukes Of Hazard
  • Friends

Things Generation X’rs Will Say When We Are Old And No One Will Care

  • “I remember when we didn’t even have microwaves.”
  • “I remember thinking it was entirely possible for the Soviet Union to blow us up at any time”
  • “I used to own 8 tracks”
  • “When I was a kid we didn’t have child safety seats. We just slid around in the back of the giant, wood-sided, family truckster station wagon. And we liked it!”
  • “I remember when Disney World was just one park.”
  • “I’m a little bit country, I’m a little bit rock and roll.”
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

